HELPFUL HINTS and SUGGESTIONS

File a MCPA DR-405 return by April 1st.
You must file timely in order to qualify
for the $25,000 TPP Exemption.

Use the original tax return mailed to
the taxpayer with pre-prinfed name,
account number, and barcode.
Answer questions 1-10 (if applicable),
sign and date the return. All questions
and schedules must be completed or
it may be classified as incomplete.

Work with your accountant to identify
equipment that has stayed the same,
changed, removed or sold on
Schedule #3.

If you have an asset |listing or
depreciation schedule identifying
each piece of equipment, attach it to
your completed return.

It is to your advantage to provide a
breakdown of assets and leasehold
improvements since depreciation on
each item varies.

Refer to Tangible Personal Property Tax
Return General Instructions or visit our
website:  www.manateepao.gov  for
additional information.

Report any changes to your business
such as sale and relocation by
submitting a completed TPP Change of
Information Form to our office.

ERADENTON

Manatee County Property Appraiser 915 4th Ave W Bradenton FL 34205

IMPORTANT DATES to REMEMBER
January 1st  Date of Assessment

January 1st  MCPA DR-405 is made
available on our website

April 1st Last Day to E-file a
Request for 30-Day
Extension of Filing Date

April 1st Last Day to Timely File
Your Tangible Personal
Property Tax Return

August Notice of Proposed
Property Taxes (TRIM) is
Mailed

September  Deadline to file a peti-
tion with Manatee
County Value Adjust-
ment Board (Actual date
is specified on TRIM)

November Tax Bills Mailed by
Manatee County Tax
Collector

Manatee County
Property Appraiser
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Tangible Personal Property (TPP) is
everything other than real estate
that is used in a business or rental
property. TPP includes:

e Furniture and Fixtures (including furni-
ture used in model homes and short-
term rental such as Airbnb and Vrbo)

e Computer Equipment

e Machinery and Equipment
e Signs and Billboards

e Leased Equipment

e Any other equipment utilized in the
operation of a business

Who must file a TPP tax return (DR-
405)?

Anyone in possession of assets on January
1st who has a proprietorship, partnership,
corporation, is a self-employed agent or
contractor, or leases, lends, or rents
property, must file a DR-405 each year.

Why do | have to file?

Section 193.052 of the Florida Statutes
requires businesses to file a DR-405 with
the property appraiser’s office.

If you file your DR-405 by April 1st, you will
be eligible for a property tax exemption of
up to $25,000 of assessed value.

After the initial year of filing, if the property
appraiser determines that the assessed
value of your personal property is less than
$25,000, fiing in the following year is
waived.

Are there deadlines and penalties?

The last day to file a timely return is April
1st unless an extension has been granted.
After that date, Florida Statutes provides
that penalties be applied at 5% per month
or portion of a month that the refurn is
late. A 25% penalty is imposed if no return
is fled and a 15% penalty is applied to the
omitted property.

How can | obtain a TPP tax return
and additional TPP forms?

Visit our website at www.manateepao.gov
and select Tangible Personal Property
from the Homepage. The TPP forms listed
below can be found on the right side of
the page:

e TPP Tax Return (MCPA DR-405)

TPP Tax Return Instructions

TPP Agent Authorization

TPP 30 Day Extension Request

TPP Change of Information Form

You may also request a copy of MCPA
DR-405 by visiting or calling our office.

What if | sold or closed my
business?

Submit the completed MCPA DR-405 and/
or TPP Change of Information Form to our
office so that we can update our records.

Keep in mind that the assessment date is
January 1st. Thus, if you were in business or
owner on record as of January 1st, you
are required to submit a MCPA DR-405.
Our office will update our records for the
following tax year.

What if | purchased an existing
business?

If you purchase a business during a year,
you may be responsible for the personal
property taxes for that year based on the
previous owner's filing. Consult your
representative or attorney, or refer to the
closing documents.

You will be required to file a
return by April 1st of the following year.

What happens if | do not file a DR-
4057

When a DR-405 is not filed and the filing
requirement has not been waived, the
Manatee County Property Appraiser is
required to place an assessment on the
property per Section 193.073(2), Florida
Statutes. This assessment represents an
estimate based on the best information
from like businesses with similar equipment
and assets. Being assessed in this manner
does not alleviate your responsibility to file
an accurate DR-405.

Additionally, not filing a DR-405 will result in
a 25% penalty and loss of the TPP
exemption, which will be reflected on your
Notice of Proposed Property Taxes (TRIM).

What if | don’t agree with the
assessed value that appears on my
TRIM?

If you do not agree with your assessment,
the first step is fo contact our office. If we
cannoft resolve your concern, you can file
a petition with the Manatee County Value
Adjustment Board. The last day to file a
petition is the 25th day following the
official date of mailing of the TRIM notice.
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