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FILE FOR HOMESTEAD ONLINE65 OR OLDER?

EXEMPTIONS FOR VETERANS WITH A SERVICE-
CONNECTED DISABILITY

The TRIM Notice is designed to inform you 
of your property values in a logical format. 

reductions and exemptions that are applied 
to your property. The market value minus the 
assessment reductions gives you the assessed 
value. This value appears by taxing authority 

in the middle section of the Notice. The 
bottom section contains the taxable value, the 
tax rates for each taxing authority and the tax 
amounts for each taxing authority. Non-Ad 
Valorem taxes that apply to your property are 
itemized on the back page.
At the bottom of Column 6 (on the front of the
Notice), you will find the estimated total of the 
Ad Valorem and Non-Ad Valorem taxes for 

which you will be billed by the Tax Collector in 
November. You may want to take note of the 
dates and times of the public hearings held by 
each taxing authority. This information can 
be found on the back of your Notice.
Our experienced staff of Exemption Specialists
and Appraisers are available to answer your 
questions. Just call us at 941-748-8208.

on previous application, ownership and use as of January 1st of this year, this notice serves as your automatic renewal of homestead exemption, all
other exemptions, and agricultural classification (greenbelt). 

Florida Law prescribes that it is the duty of the owner of any property to notify the property appraiser promptly whenever the use of the property or 
the status or condition of the owner changes so as to change the exempt status of the property. If any property owner fails to so notify the property 
appraiser and the property appraiser determines that for any year within the prior 10 years the owner was not entitled to receive such exemption, 
the property shall be subject to the taxes exempted as a result of such failure, plus 15 percent interest per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the 
taxes exempted. Reference Sections 196.011(9)(a), 196.131 and 196.161, F.S.

exemptions@manateepao.gov).
greenbelt@manateepao.gov).

Ex amples that impact eligibility for Homestead and other
personal Exemptions: 

• Change in marital status 
• Rental of property 
• No longer permanent residence 
• No longer permanent Florida resident/exemption in another jurisdiction

 
 

 
 

www.manateepao.gov

If you are an honorably-discharged veteran who has a service-connected 
disability and you are a permanent Florida resident, you may be entitled to an 
exemption. The surviving spouse may be entitled to carry over the exemption.
Veterans who are permanent Florida residents and are 65 years of age or 
older with a combat-related disability, may be eligible to receive an additional 
property tax discount based upon their percentage of service-connected 
disability. The surviving spouse may be entitled to carry over the exemption.
To learn more, please contact our Exemptions Department.

65 OR OLDER? FILE FOR HOMESTEAD ONLINE

UNDERSTANDING THE VALUES ON YOUR NOTICE

AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OF EXEMPTIONS AND AGRICULTURAL CLASSIFICATION

EXEMPTIONS FOR VETERANS WITH A SERVICE-
CONNECTED DISABILITY

As your Property Appraiser, one of my functions is 
to ensure that all eligible taxpayers get the full 
benefit of those exemptions to which they are 
entitled. Counties and municipalities may grant an 
additional homestead exemption to low income 
persons who are at least 65 years of age and whose 
total household adjusted gross income falls below 
defined limits. For the 2025 exemption, the 
household adjusted gross income could not exceed 
$37,694. The application deadline will be March 1st 
of the year the exemption is to begin. To learn 
more; please contact our office.

You will find three separate “values” on    
your Notice. The market value appears first. 
Below that, you will find the assessment

The property owner is required to notify our office if they no longer qualify for any exemption or agricultural classification.

If the property listed on the enclosed TRIM notice has been granted homestead exemption, other exemptions or agricultural classification based

If you no longer qualify to receive an exemption of any kind, you must notify our office by Cancellation Form or email:
If you no longer qualify for agricultural classification (greenbelt), you must notify our office by email:



Charlie Hackney
Manatee County Property Appraiser

VALUE ADJUSTMENT BOARD
If you disagree with your real property value, personal property value, prop-

at 941-748-8208 to speak with an experienced Appraiser or Exemption 
Specialist to discuss your concerns. You may also make an appointment to 

resolve your concerns, you may petition the Value Adjustment Board (VAB) 
which serves as an independent decision-making authority when there is a 
disagreement between the property owner and Property Appraiser.

should be submitted to the Manatee County Clerk of Court, Value Adjust-
ment Board, 1115 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton FL 34025.  Questions 
pertaining to the VAB should be directed to 941-741-4058. The deadline 

M Notice.

Manatee County 
Property Appraiser

915 Fourth Avenue West 
Bradenton, Florida 34205

Hours:

Monday-Friday 
8:30 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: 941-748-8208 
.manateepao.gov

ATTENTION NEW HOMEOWNERS
If you have recently purchased a home, you may qualify 
for a substantial tax savings with a homestead exemption. 
This exemption is a constitutional guarantee that reduces 
the assessed value of owner-occupied residential proper-
ty up to $25,000 for 
additional homestead exemption of up to $25,000 is 
available to homeowners whose homes have an assessed 
value of more than $50,000.

The homestead exemption is not automatically applied 
to your new home, so I urge you to complete an applica-
tion with our office before the filing deadline. You 
may file online or in person at our office. One of our 
experienced Exemption Specialists would be happy to 
provide you with a list of the documentation you will need 
to complete your application.  We will answer 

any questions you may have and make the experience 
easy and convenient for you so you can get back to the 
important things in life – like enjoying your new home!

CONTACT US BY EMAIL:
Appraisal: 
appraisal@manateepao.gov  

Mapping:  
mapping@manateepao.gov

Change of Address: 
addresschange@manateepao.gov         

Exemptions: 
exemptions@manateepao.gov

Tangible Personal 
Property: tpp@manateepao.gov

IT Department: 
paoit@manateepao.gov 

CATASTROPHIC EVENTS

VALUE ADJUSTMENT BOARD
If you disagree with your real property value, personal property value, prop-

941-748-8208 to speak with an experienced Appraiser or Exemption Spe-
cialist to discuss your concerns. You may also make an appointment to dis-

resolve your concerns, you may petition the Value Adjustment Board (VAB) 
which serves as an independent decision-making authority when there is a 
disagreement between the property owner and Property Appraiser.
Petition forms for  the VAB are available from our website or of-

Value Adjustment Board, 1115 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton, 
FL 34205. Questions pertaining to the VAB should be directed to 
941-741-4058
front of your TRIM Notice.

CONTACT US BY EMAIL:
Appraisal: 
appraisal@manateepao.gov

Change of Address: 
addresschange@manateepao.gov

Exemptions: 
exemptions@manateepao.gov

Tangible Personal Property: 
tpp@manateepao.gov

IT Department: 
paoit@manateepao.gov

Agricultural Use: 
greenbelt@manateepao.gov

Mapping & Ownership: 
mapping@manateepao.gov
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The Manatee County Property Appraiser has created 
an online survey to help you notify our office if your 
property has suffered damage from a catastrophic 
event.  Catastrophic events may include hurricane, 
tornado, wildfire, flooding, structure fire, water 
damage, or structural failure.  All property types may 
complete the survey to inform our office of the 
damage to their property.

Residential properties that are uninhabitable for 30 
days or more may be eligible for a partial property 
tax refund of the current year property taxes 
attributed to the damaged residential structure.  The 
damage survey will prompt the property owner to 
complete the application (DR465) online if eligible.  
The deadline to submit an application will be March 
1st of the year following the catastrophic event.

Property owners that have qualified for homestead 
exemption and whose residence is uninhabitable, 
may retain their homestead exemption while living 
temporarily away.  However, the owner must keep 
the damaged property as their primary residence 
and not change their residence documents to 
another permanent location.  Those documents 
would include driver license, vehicle registrations, 
and voter’s registrations.

Please contact our office for further information.


