

UNDERSTANDING THE VALUES ON YOUR NOTICE

The TRIM Notice is designed to inform you of your property values in a logical format. You will find three separate "values" on your Notice. The market value appears first. Below that, you will find the assessment reductions and exemptions that are applied to your property. The market value minus the assessment reductions gives you the assessed value. This value appears by taxing authority in the middle section of the Notice. The bottom section contains the taxable value, the tax rates for each taxing authority and the tax amounts for each taxing authority. Non-Ad Valorem taxes that apply to your property are itemized on the back page.

At the bottom of Column 6 (on the front of the Notice), you will find the estimated total of the Ad Valorem and Non-Ad Valorem taxes for which you will be billed by the Tax Collector in November. You may want to take note of the dates and times of the public hearings held by each taxing authority. This information can be found on the back of your Notice.

Our experienced staff of Exemption Specialists and Appraisers are available to answer your questions. Just call us at **941-748-8208**.

AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OF EXEMPTIONS AND AGRICULTURAL CLASSIFICATION

If the property listed on the enclosed TRIM notice has been granted homestead exemption, other exemptions or agricultural classification based on previous application, ownership and use as of January 1st of this year, this notice serves as your automatic renewal of homestead exemption, all other exemptions, and agricultural classification (greenbelt).

The property owner is required to notify our office if they no longer qualify for any exemption or agricultural classification.

Florida Law prescribes that it is the duty of the owner of any property to notify the property appraiser promptly whenever the use of the property or the status or condition of the owner changes so as to change the exempt status of the property. If any property owner fails to so notify the property appraiser and the property appraiser determines that for any year within the prior 10 years the owner was not entitled to receive such exemption, the property shall be subject to the taxes exempted as a result of such failure, plus 15 percent interest per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted. Reference Sections 196.011(9)(a), 196.131 and 196.161, F.S.

If you no longer qualify to receive an exemption of any kind, you must notify our office by Cancellation Form or email: (*exemptions@manateepao.gov*). If you no longer qualify for agricultural classification (greenbelt), you must notify our office by email: (*greenbelt@manateepao.gov*).

Examples that impact eligibility for Homestead and other personal Exemptions:

• Change in marital status

- Rental of property
- No longer permanent residence
- No longer permanent Florida resident/exemption in another jurisdiction

Examples that impact eligibility for Exemptions or Agricultural Classification:

- Not used primarily for a bona fide exempt purpose
- Not used primarily for a bona fide Agricultural purpose
- Change in ownership



As your Property Appraiser, one of my functions is to ensure that all eligible taxpayers get the full benefit of those exemptions to which they are entitled. The Low-Income Senior Homestead Exemption was approved in 1998 as an amendment to the Florida Constitution. The amendment authorized counties and municipalities to grant an additional homestead exemption to low income persons who are at least 65 years of age and whose total household adjusted income falls below defined limits. To learn if you qualify for this exemption, please contact our office.

IMPORTANT DATES

- January 1 Date of assessment
- *March 1* Deadline to file all exemption applications
 - *April 1* Deadline to file TPP returns
- August TRIM Notices are mailed

November 1 - Tax Collector mails tax bill

FILE FOR HOMESTEAD ONLINE

If you plan on filing for a homestead exemption, I encourage you to utilize our online filing system. Visit our website at **www.manateepao.gov**. From the homepage, click on the large icon titled "File for Homestead Online" and you will be taken through a step-by-step filing process. While our staff is always available for in person assistance, we hope that making the online system available to you will ease some of the frustration you may experience during the busy filing season.

EXEMPTIONS FOR VETERANS WITH A SERVICE-CONNECTED DISABILITY

If you are an honorably-discharged veteran who has a service-connected disability and you are a permanent Florida resident, you may be entitled to an exemption. The surviving spouse may be entitled to carry over the exemption.

Veterans who are permanent Florida residents and are 65 years of age or older with a combat-related disability, may be eligible to receive an additional property tax discount based upon their percentage of service-connected disability. The surviving spouse may be entitled to carry over the exemption.



To learn more, please contact our Exemptions Department.

Charlie Hackney Manatee County Property Appraiser



ATTENTION NEW HOMEOWNERS

If you have recently purchased a home, you may qualify for a substantial tax savings with a homestead exemption. This exemption is a constitutional privilege that reduces the assessed value of owner- occupied residential property up to \$25,000 for qualified permanent residents. An additional homestead exemption of up to \$25,000 is available to homeowners whose homes have an assessed value of more than \$50,000.

The homestead exemption is not automatically applied to your new home, so I urge you to complete an application with our office before the filing deadline. You may file online or in person at our office. One of our experienced Exemption Specialists would be happy to provide you with a list of the documentation you will need to complete your application. We will answer any questions you may have



and make the experience easy and convenient for you so you can get back to the important things in life - like enjoying your new home!

VALUE ADJUSTMENT BOARD

If you disagree with your real property value, personal property value, property classification or exemptions, I would encourage you to call our office at **941-748-8208** to speak with an experienced Appraiser or Exemption Specialist to discuss your concerns. You may also make an appointment to discuss your concerns in person with our staff. In the event we are unable to resolve your concerns, you may petition the Value Adjustment Board (VAB) which serves as an independent decision-making authority when there is a disagreement between the property owner and Property Appraiser.

Petition forms for the VAB are available from our website or office and should be submitted to the Manatee County Clerk of Court, Value Adjustment Board, 1115 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton, FL 34205. Questions pertaining to the VAB should be directed to **941-741-4058**. The deadline for filing a petition is boldly printed on the front of your TRIM Notice.

Manatee County Property Appraiser

915 Fourth Avenue West Bradenton, Florida 34205

Hours:

Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm Phone: 941-748-8208 www.manateepao.gov

CONTACT US BY EMAIL:

Appraisal: appraisal@manateepao.gov

Change of Address: addresschange@manateepao.gov

Exemptions: exemptions@manateepao.gov

Tangible Personal Property: tpp@manateepao.gov

IT Department: paoit@manateepao.gov

Agricultural Use: greenbelt@manateepao.gov

Mapping & Ownership: mapping@manateepao.gov