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CHARLES E. HACKNEY, CFA 
MANATEE COUNTY PROPERTY APPRAISER 

Exemption Cancellation/Removal Form 

If you desire to have your Manatee County exemption cancelled and removed, please complete ALL 
of the information below. 
IMPORTANT! The cancellation of the exemption will not be considered if this form is not signed and 
dated by the property owners. 

Parcel ID Number   

I/We, the owners, request that the homestead exemption and/or other tax exemptions be removed. 

I/We,  no longer qualify for 

homestead exemption on the property located at 

Reason for Removal (please select from list): 

Property is no longer the primary residence as of           _            (provide date) 

I / We no longer occupy the property. I/We moved on  (provide date) 

The property is being rented to tenants as of                  __             (provide date) 

I /We sold the property on  __________________________________________________ (provide date)  

Owner is deceased as of  _______________________________________ (please provide proof of death) 

Remove Surviving Spouse Benefit ________________________ (please provide date and place of marriage)  

Other, explain   

Print Name Print Name 

Owner Signature Owner Signature 

Date 
( ) - 

Current Mailing Address Telephone 

Return to: Manatee County Property Appraiser OR 
Attn: Assessment Services Department 
915 4th Ave W
Bradenton, FL 34205

Fax to: 941-742-5664 
Email:  exemptions@manateepao.gov 

Florida Statute, Sections 196.011 and 196.161 states that it is the duty of the owner of any property to notify the Property 
Appraiser promptly whenever the use of the property, the status or condition of the owner changes so as to change effects the 
exempt status of the property. If any property owner fails to so notify the Property Appraiser determines that for any year within 
the prior 10 years the owner was not entitled to receive such exemption, the property shall be subject to the taxes exempted as a 
result of such failure, plus 15 percent interest per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted. 

EXAMPLES ARE: renting, moving, changing ownership or otherwise disposing of property, death of owner, no longer 
making Florida a legal residence or changing owner’s status per marriage, divorce, death, etc. 
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