
 

 
 

Certain property tax benefits are available to property owners in Florida. Eligibility for these property tax benefits 
depends on certain requirements. Information is available from the property appraiser’s office in the county where 
the person owns a homestead or other property. 

 

Exemption Benefits   

 Real estate that a quadriplegic person uses 
and owns as a homestead is exempt from all 
ad valorem taxation. (see section 
196.101(1), Florida Statutes) 

 Real estate used and owned as 
a homestead by a paraplegic, 
hemiplegic, or other totally and 
permanently disabled person, 
who must use a wheelchair for 
mobility or who is legally blind, 
is exempt from taxation if the 
gross household income is 
below the current gross income 
limit. Gross income is the 
income, including veterans' and social security 
benefits, of all persons residing in the 
homestead. If filing for the first time, the 
property owner must present a certificate of 
total and permanent disability (Form DR-416) 
from two Florida-licensed doctors or from the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs. 
For the legally blind, one of the two may be a 
certificate from a Florida-licensed optometrist 
(Form DR-416B). (see section 196.101, F.S.) 

 Property to the value of $500 of every widow, 
widower, blind person, or totally and 
permanently disabled person who is a bona fide 
resident of this state is exempt from taxation. 
See Form DR-501. (see section 196.202, F.S.) 

 Real estate used and owned as a homestead 
by the surviving spouse of a first responder 
who died in the line of duty while employed by 
the state or any political subdivision of the 
state is exempt from taxation. The first 
responder and his or her surviving spouse 
must have been permanent Florida residents 
on January 1 of the year in which the first 
responder died. (see section 196.081(6), F.S.) 

Assessment Benefits   
 A county may allow a reduction in a homestead 

property’s assessed value when it results from the 
owner constructing the property to provide 

living quarters for one or 
more natural or adoptive 
parents or grandparents of 
the property owner or the 
owner’s spouse. One of the 
parents or grandparents 
must be at least 62 years of 
age. See Form DR- 
501PGP. (see section 
193.703(1), F.S.) 

 In determining the assessed value of a 
residential property, the property appraiser may 
not consider an increase in the just value of the 
property that results from the installation of a 
renewable energy source device on or after 
January 1, 2013. This benefit does not require 
an application. (see section 193.624, F.S.) 

How to Apply 
 

If you are applying for the 
homestead exemption or 
already receive the 
homestead exemption on 
your property and believe 
you may qualify for any of 
these additional property 
tax benefits, please 
contact your county 
property appraiser to 

apply. If the property appraiser denies the 
application, you may file a petition with the county’s 
value adjustment board. For more information, see 
Petitions to the Value Adjustment Board. 
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OTHER AVAILABLE PROPERTY TAX BENEFITS 

The Department of Revenue’s website has more information about property tax benefits
and contact information for county officials. 

http://floridarevenue.com/property/Pages/Taxpayers.aspx 

http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr416.pdf
http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr416b.pdf
http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501.pdf
http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501pgp.pdf
http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501pgp.pdf
http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/pt101.pdf

